$1.50 off your next purchase!
By Nellie's Kindness Crew
This one has a simple answer: no, eggs are not a dairy product.
Dairy products are defined as anything that comes from a mammal’s milk. That includes milk, butter, cheese, yogurt, and ice cream. The milk can come from a cow, a goat, a buffalo, or even a yak.
The question of whether or not eggs are dairy is important because many people with food allergies or intolerances often have to avoid categories like dairy, so it’s critical to have a clear understanding of what's in the category and what isn't. Some people suffer from an allergy to the proteins found in milk. Others are lactose intolerant, which results from an enzyme deficiency that makes it impossible to break down the lactose (a sugar found in dairy) in one’s system.
People with one or both of these conditions don't necessarily need to avoid eggs as they are devoid of milk proteins and lactose. Eggs are also gluten free.
There are a number of reasons for this, dating all the way back to the early days of the corner grocer. Both are animal proteins, so they make a logical pair in that respect. Both are required to be refrigerated in the United States, so there's a practical reason to co-locate them in the cooler. And finally, many years ago, when local grocery stores were supplied with eggs and dairy, they often came from the same small farms – so it just made sense to put the products next to each other when they arrived. And once the pattern was set, it stuck.
Hello, I have a question regarding your eggs. The eggs are wondeful, but when I notice the date on them it read Jan 30. Today is Feb 19th. Are they still good?
Hi Donna, thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. It sounds like you may have a carton that is past our recommended consumption date. Typically we tell folks that our eggs are guaranteed up until the use by date for consumption and after that, it's up to you if you'd like to eat them. We'd be happy to chat a little more in detail if you'd like to send us a message to: [email protected] Thanks!
Are Paper Or Recycled Plastic Cartons Better For the Environment?
Can Vegetarians Eat Eggs?